I-Learn Instructor Help GuidesI-Learn Help GuidesOther I-Learn Tips, Tricks, & TimesaversUnderstanding the Differences Between "Draft" and "Published"

Understanding the Differences Between "Draft" and "Published"

When To Use the Publish or Draft Option

When To Use the Publish or Draft Option

With each content page or activity within a course, you are able to publish the content or leave it as a draft. These options can be found within the content tab in two spots:

  1. Right beneath the Teaching Tools tab
  2. Within Bulk Edit settings

Beneath Teaching Tools Option

Beneath Teaching Tools Option

The Published/Draft button beneath teaching tools in any module will either make the entire module visible (Published) or invisible to the students (Draft). The Draft option will hide the module from the students until it is published, while Published makes all content within a module visible.

Bulk Edit Option

Bulk Edit Option

Within each module, you have the option to bulk edit the items, which gives the option to change each item in the module to either Draft or Published mode. This way you can make any specific item visible or invisible to students.

Even though Quizzes, Discussion Boards, or Quizzes may be set as a draft within the Content tab, students will still be able to access those activities through their respective tabs.

  • For example, if a Quiz was set as a Draft within the Content tab, a student could navigate to  the Quizzes tab and still access the quiz.

In order to fix this issue, you would have to add Start Dates to the Quiz, Discussion Board or Assignments to make it inaccessible to the students until the desired date.

You can follow one of these respective articles to learn how to add Start and End Dates: